2017 Professional Development Awards announced, 66% awarded to women

Tuesday, 25 Jul 2017

APRA AMCOS has announced the winning Australian songwriters and composers in the 2017 APRA PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT AWARDS (PDAs).

Held every two years, the APRA PDAs help create serious career boosting opportunities for highly talented songwriters and composers across a variety of genres and without further ado, the winners for 2017 are:

  • Ainslie Wills – Popular Contemporary
  • Julia Jacklin – Popular Contemporary
  • Sophie Payten (Gordi) – Popular Contemporary
  • Jess Beck – Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander
  • Julian Day - Classical
  • Fanny Lumsden - Country
  • Nick Drabble (Set Mo) – Dance/Electronic
  • Damien Lane – Film and Television
  • Andrea Keller - Jazz

This year, 60% of the finalists and 66% of the winners are women.  The winners were selected from over 1,000 entries from songwriters and composers in the early stages of their careers.

PDA Winners

01 02 03

Composer and poet, Eric Avery, has been named the recipient of the Indigenous Music and Media Award from the Smugglers of Light, a foundation set up in memory of Eli Westlake aged 21, who was tragically killed in Sydney on 7th June 2008. Eric Avery will receive a grant of $12,000 which was presented today by Australian composer and conductor, Nigel Westlake.

A panel of  judges comprising Lior, Mia Dyson, Johannes Luebbers, James Blundell, Brooke McClymont, Cat Hope, Dan Zilber, Kevin Bennett, Leah Flanagan, John Ferris and more have determined these music creators who each take home a career-changing cash prize of $15,000. A complete list of this year’s PDAs judges can be found here.

A playlist featuring the work of all of the PDAs finalists is available on Spotify and Apple Music.

Site Menu

Search the Website