Grant McLennan Fellowship 2018

Friday, 20 Jul 2018

Nominations are now open for the 2018 Grant McLennan Fellowship, jointly funded by the Queensland Government through Arts Queensland and APRA AMCOS.

Founded in 2007 in honour of the late Queensland singer-songwriter and co-frontman of The Go-Betweens, Grant McLennan, the Fellowship is an incredible chance for local songwriters to take their careers to a whole new level.

The prestigious $25,000 fellowship offers the recipient an opportunity to travel to New York, London or Berlin for up to six months and use the experience of being immersed in a foreign and vibrant musical culture to further develop their own artistic skills.

These three cities were of special significance in Grant’s life, and for the last eleven years have provided Queensland musicians with the same kinds of transformative experiences that made his music so special. 2017 recipient, Brisbane singer-songwriter Jeremy Neale is currently in New York, and using the experience to focus on improving his skills as a songwriter.

“I'm only at the beginning of my journey here but have so far completed a two week songwriting intensive at NYU that has done wonders for my own writing and also made me comfortable with co-writing - which is something that I had avoided for most of my career but am now engaging in wherever possible,” says Neale.

“It has been a great chance to fully immerse myself in music and I find myself saying yes to opportunities I generally wouldn't be able to pursue back home due to time limitations. I feel inspired, productive and that what I'm learning will help me immensely in my future as a songwriter”

Minister for the Arts Leeanne Enoch encouraged Queensland songwriters to apply for this year’s fellowship.

“This unique award has changed the lives and focus of past winners, inspiring them to write songs that contribute to Queensland’s success as a hub for contemporary music in Australia.

“Contemporary music is a global industry and the Grant McLennan Fellowship gives our top talent the chance to explore creative options and establish international networking opportunities that can benefit the wider local industry,” Minister Enoch said.

“For over a decade, The Grant McLennan Fellowship has been supporting some of Queensland’s most promising songwriters on a journey of professional development and creative growth. APRA AMCOS is proud to be a partner in a program that honours Grant’s exceptional work by nurturing the talent in others”. – Jana Gibson, Head of Member Services

Applications open on Friday 20 July for individual songwriters and songwriting duos.

You must:

  • Reside in Queensland and be an Australian citizen or permanent resident
  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Be a member of APRA AMCOS
  • Have satisfied the reporting requirements of any previous Arts Queensland grants
  • Have an ABN
  • Only submit one application in each round (e.g. songwriting duos may not also submit individual applications).

Applications close on 17 September, with the winners to be announced in December 2018.

Head to for full eligibility requirements and guidelines.

Previous winners of the Grant McLennan Fellowship have been;

  • 2017: Jeremy Neale
  • 2016: Hannah Macklin (MKO Sun)
  • 2015: Timothy Steward (We All Want To, Screamfeeder)
  • 2014: Thomas Calder (The Trouble With Templeton)
  • 2013: Seja Vogel
  • 2012: Louise O’Reilly and Paul Hannan (Laneway)
  • 2011: Scott Spark
  • 2010: Danny Widdicombe & Andrew Morris (The Wilson Pickers)
  • 2009: Helen Franzmann (McKisko)
  • 2008: John Busby and Chris Dale (Halfway)
  • 2007: Greg Charles

Site Menu

Search the Website