The Top 40 is here! 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition reveals shortlist

Monday, 24 Jun 2019

Odette, Morgan Evans, Kaiit, The Presets, Far East Movement and more make the cut.

Songwriters worldwide help raise nearly $185k for Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia

The 2019 Vanda & Young Global Songwriting Competition shortlist is unveiled today, showcasing a mix of songs ranging from top of the pops to under-the-radar.

Nashville-via-Newcastle’s Morgan Evans’Dance With Me, LA global pop group Far East Movement’s Bamboo and two songs each from songwriter-performers Ruel, Bri Clark, The Presets and Odette figure into the Top 40 shortlist.

Ones to watch appearing in the list include Françoistunes, NYNE and Hayley Mengel with tunes that stood out from the 3,683 entries from 48 countries. The Top 40 features 23 first-time entrants with a third of the songs categorised as ‘unpublished.’ 

Through their collective efforts, songwriters helped raise a total $184,150 for Nordoff-Robbins Music Therapy Australia (NRMTA), with the full $50 entry fee going towards funding the organisation’s transformative programs.

“It means the world to our organisation and the children and adults we work with daily to have the support of over 3,600 songwriters from around the globe, whose competition entry fees go directly to providing much needed resources for a range of therapies and programs. A heartfelt thank you to Alberts and APRA AMCOS for championing this initiative for the past decade and thank you to songwriting legends Harry Vanda and George Young who continue to inspire,” said Belinda Leonard, CEO of NRMTA.

Four top winners will be announced in July. At stake is a first-place career-changing cash prize of A$50,000, courtesy of APRA AMCOSAlberts and BMGTwo runners-up cash prizes are also on offer with second place receiving A$10,000 thanks to AMPAL (Australasian Music Publishers Association) and third place taking home A$5,000 courtesy of Aon, and best ‘Unpublished’ work will be awarded A$5,000. 

The winning songs will be judged by a range of music industry professionals, including award-winning songwriter Lior, previous Vanda & Young first-place winner Isabella Manfredi of The Preatures, triple j Unearthed’s Dave Ruby Howe, producer Franc Tetaz and more.

In 2018, Gold Coast singer and songwriter Amy Sharktook out the top prize for her haunting pop anthem Adore, joining an impressive roll-call of past winners includingGretta Ray (2016), Husky Gawenda (2014), The Preatures (2013), Kimbra (2011)and Megan Washington (2009).

Named after the iconic songwriters and founding members of The EasybeatsHarry Vanda and the late George Young, the competition raises funds for NRMTA and its work with children and adults with physical and intellectual disabilities, autism, trauma, illness, dementia, behaviour disorders and learning difficulties. 

Without further ado, here is the 2019 Vanda and Young Songwriting Competition shortlist in alphabetical order:

 Aron Blom  Low Low Low  Jake Mason, Aron Blom, Hjalmar
 Wilenvand Felix Gothesson
 Bri Clark  Don't Love Me  Bri Clark, Finlay Dow-Smith and
 Isabella Kearney-Nurse
 Bri Clark  What If I Break
 Your Heart
 Bri Clark and Adam Spark
 Clare Bowditch  Woman  Clare Bowditch
 CXLOE  Show You  Chloe Papandrea, Sam Farrar
 and Max Farrar
 David Taylor  Battered  David Taylor and Peter Holz
 Dean Lewis  Be Alright  Dean Lewis and Jon Hume
 Emma Louise  Wish You Well  Emma Lobb
 Far East Movement
 feat. Jason Zhang and
 Kina Grannis
 Bamboo  James Roh, Kevin Nishimura,
 Virman Coquia, Huang Shao
 Feng, Zeng Yu, Max Farrar and
 Colton Avery
 Françoistunes  Seasons  Frederick Mutswagiwa and
 Andrew Wortes
 Hayley Mengel  Sober  Hayley Mengel
 HOLY HOLY  Teach Me About
 Timothy Carroll, Ryan Strathie
 and Oscar Dawson
 I Know Leopard  Everything Goes
 With You
 Luke O'Loughlin, Todd Andrews,
 Rosemary Fitzgerald and Jenny
 Jarryd James  Slow Motion  Jarryd James and Joel Little
 Jess & Matt  Virginia  Phillip Barton, Jessica Dunbar
 and Matt Price
 Kaiit  Miss Shiney  Kaiit Waup, Michael Lee Chan,
 Mohamed Komba, Vincent
 Goodyer and Nicholas Martin
 Little May  As Loving Should  
 Manu Crooks feat.
 Anfa Rose
 Fuego  Emmanuel Adu Amankwah,
 Antonio Zito, Ossama Zaki,
 Wilson Batista and Jose Batista
 Oliveira D'
 Matt Corby  Miracle Love  Dann Hume and Matt Corby
 Max Frost  Money Problems  Taka Perry, Clea Pratt and Max
 Morgan Evans  Dance With Me  Morgan Evans and Christopher
 De Stefano
 Ngaiire  Shiver  Ngaiire, Jack Britten and Will
 No Mono  Violence Broken  Thomas Iansek and Thomas
 NYNE  I Think You're  Shannon Elliman and Sione Sisifa
 Odette  A Place That I
 Don't Know
 Georgia Odette Sallybanks
 Odette  Take It To The
 Georgia Odette Sallybanks and
 Jason Cox
 Ruel  Dazed &
 Ruel, Peter James Harding, Mark
 Landon and Sean Douglas
 Ruel  Younger  Ruel, Mark Landon, Peter James
 Harding, Sarah Aarons, Larry
 Griffin and Javohn Griffin
 Sahara Beck  Here We Go
 Sahara Beck and Antony Buchen
 Sammi Constantine  Ropes  Samantha Constantine, Aaron
 Lee North and Matthew Connelly
 Stella Donnelly  Tricks  Stella Donnelly
 The Presets  Downtown
 Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes
 The Presets  Martini  Julian Hamilton and Kim Moyes
 The Maes  Driving Ali
 Through Mining
 Elsie Rigby
 The Veronicas  Think of Me  Jessica Origliasso, Lisa Origliasso, 
 Roberto De Sa and Isabella
 Timothy James Bowen  Sing  Timothy James Bowen
 VASSY  Concrete Heart  Vicky Karagiorgos, Philip Bentley,
 Daniel Muckala, Daniel Boselovic
 and Nicholas Ditri
 Wafia  I’m Good  Wafia Al-Rikabi, Roget Chahayed,
 John Hill and Stephen Samuel
 Winterbourne  Better  James Draper and Jordan Brady
 Zedd, Maren Morris &
 The Middle  Sarah Aarons, Stefan Johnson,
 Marcus Lomax, Jordan Johnson,
 Anton Zaslavski, Kyle Trewartha
 and Michael Trewartha

Listen and share the Top 40 Finalist playlist streaming on Spotify and Apple Music.

Site Menu

Search the Website